# <u>City of Keene</u> New Hampshire

## ENERGY AND CLIMATE COMMITTEE RETREAT MEETING MINUTES

#### Monday, May 12, 2025

8:00 AM

Room 22, Recreation Center

#### Members Present:

Ken Swymer, Chair Councilor Bryan Lake Steve Larmon Gordon Leversee Timothy Murphy Rowland Russell, Alternate (Voting)

# <u>Staff Present:</u> Megan Fortson, Planner Emily Duseau, Planning Technician

#### **Members Not Present:**

Paul Roth, Vice Chair Maureen Nebenzahl Annu Joshi Bargale Clair Oursler Lisa Maxfield Jake Pipp, Alternate Chuck Redfern, Alternate

### 1) Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Swymer called the meeting to order at 8:43 AM and invited Dr. Rowland Russell to participate as a voting member.

### 2) Floodplain Mitigation Plan & FEMA Mapping Updates

Chair Swymer welcomed Kürt Blomquist, Emergency Management Director, and Michael Hagan, Plans Examiner & Floodplain Manager, to the retreat. Mr. Blomquist and Mr. Hagan provided the Committee with a presentation regarding the ongoing updates to the City's Hazard Mitigation Plan as well as the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA's) flood maps.

Following the presentation, Mr. Blomquist and Mr. Hagan answered questions from the Committee members.

## 3) <u>Master Plan Update</u>

Megan Fortson, Planner, and Emily Duseau, Planning Technician, provided an update on the status of the Comprehensive Master Plan project and spoke with the Committee members in attendance about the Flourishing Environment Pillar of the plan. Staff continued by addressing items the committee could facilitate to support the goals and action items of this Pillar and the other components of the Master Plan over the course of the coming years.

## 4) <u>Break</u>

5) <u>Ice Breaker</u>

# 6) <u>Work Group Discussions</u>

The ECC members in attendance discussed the existing work groups and whether or not they should continue to be structured the same way moving forward. The members ultimately decided that three work groups dedicated to outreach, policy, and resilience would allow the Committee to focus on one project as a group. Tasks related to the overarching project could then be disseminated to each of the work groups and work groups would report back to the entire Committee at regular meetings.

A motion was made by Mr. Tim Murphy to create three workgroups titled outreach, policy, and resilience, respectively. The motion was seconded by Councilor Bryan Lake and was unanimously approved.

### 7) Closing Discussions & Adjournment

With no further business, Chair Swymer adjourned the retreat meeting at 10:35 AM.

Respectfully submitted by, Megan Fortson, Planner

Reviewed and edited by, Emily Duseau, Planning Technician