Downtown Keene Depot and Trail Photo Banner

About

The Community Development Department implements community based strategies to enhance economic opportunity, build strong neighborhoods, protect Keene’s environment and natural resources and ensure a dynamic framework for quality growth and development while providing professional advice and technical expertise to promote and protect health, safety and the environment.

The work of the department ranges from reviewing, issuing, and inspecting building permits to long-range planning, food and health licensing and inspections, historic preservation, code enforcement, and GIS / mapping. The department is also responsible for staffing twelve boards and commissions.

Click here to view current projects and initiatives

An important goal of the Community Development Department is to provide better customer service through a permit center where applications for the most common permits can be processed quickly at the point of contact with the customer. The Permit Technician and the Planning Technician positions are central to this approach, with cross-training to better serve the public. The process has been streamlined to provide direct interaction with other City departments, such as Public Works and Fire. 

  • Staff Members

    Name

    Title

    Email

    Jesse Rounds

    Director / Acting Health Official

    jrounds@KeeneNH.gov

    Mari Brunner

    Senior Planner

    mbrunner@KeeneNH.gov

    Rick Wood

    Building Official / Fire Marshall

    rwood@KeeneNH.gov

    Mike Hagan

    Plans Examiner / Flood Plain Manager

    mhagan@KeeneNH.gov

    Corinne Marcou

    Administrative Assistant

    cmarcou@KeeneNH.gov

    TJ O’Brien

    Commercial Building Inspector

    tobrien@KeeneNH.gov

    Joel Fedorowicz

    Code Enforcement Officer

    jfedorowicz@KeeneNH.gov

    Robert Burns

    Permit Technician

    rburns@KeeneNH.gov

    Ryan Lawliss

    Housing Inspector

    rlawliss@KeeneNH.gov

    Will Schoefmann

    Mapping Technician

    wschoefmann@KeeneNH.gov

    Evan Clements

    Planner

    eclements@KeeneNH.gov

    Megan Fortson

    Planning Technician

    mfortson@KeeneNH.gov

    Rob Allen

    Food Establishment Inspector

    rallen@KeeneNH.gov

  • Location, Contact & Hours

    Location:

    City Hall, 4th Floor
    3 Washington St.
    Keene, NH 03431

    Phone: (603)-352-5440

    Email: CommunityDevelopment@KeeneNH.gov

    Hours: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday